Flash Decisions

I had a good writing day today. I made it to my word-quota in a flash and I can’t tell if it was the fact that I was running on coffee and good intentions or that I had just managed to make the biggest decision of my short life in under twenty four hours. Adrenaline is a beautiful thing, though–very much in the manner that my coffee does– after the effects wear off, you crash hard, which is what I’ll probably find has happened when I sit to write again.

I’m at that stage in my life where each fork I meet on the road to tomorrow could change the course of everything– whether for better or worse is irrelevant; the idea is that there’s no going back. I got lucky; I have a pretty stable home life, and the milestones that everyone says are the stepping stones to adulthood have passed by without so much as a flicker of excitement. I did what I was supposed to do, and that was that.

Except what I was supposed to do apparently wasn’t what I had chosen. And so over french toast and fruit at a lovely restaurant with my dad, the infamous fork appeared on the horizon, and though there were a few trees in the way, by that afternoon the forest had cleared and BAM, there it was. It wasn’t that there was anything chasing me; there was no reason to jump into things, but a combination of anxiety and elation at the opportunity led me to making one of my first ever “rash” decisions. (You know, because writing books for a living is a sensible choice, right?)

It doesn’t matter what the choice was, but I’m still riding on its high. I’m sure it’ll pass when everything I forgot to take into account floods in to my head, but for right now, it makes for some great writing inspiration, or rather, motivation at least.

Writing tip #1: Make big decisions quickly. Then, pop open your laptop before you calm down and work on whatever projects you have going. Great progress is made when the mind is busy, or at least in my situation.

I’ll let you know how much I get done when I start wondering what I’ve gotten myself into. Don’t try this at home, kids.

I feel another story coming on.

Leave a Reply

